Gorges de la Nesque
The Nesque river runs from an area near Sault, high in the Ventoux range, to and area between Villes-sur-Auzon and Methantis. The Gorges de la Nesque cuts through the mountains between Mt. Ventoux and the plateau of the Vaucluse. A small road follows the gorges from Villes-s ur-Auzon to Sault providing access to this dramatic and picturesque valley.
During 1866, well before the opening of the road which overlooks this site, Frederic MISTRAL discovered the Goreges de la Nesque and the Rocher du Cire’s wild bees, where he endangered his life gathering golden honey combs.
The Saint Michel de Anesca (de la Nesque) Chapel is at the bottom of the Gorges de la Nesque. It borders the mountain river and is positioned underneath the overhanging rock above which lie two other shelters occupied during the prehistoric era. The Chapel itself is a modest building, with an enthralling location and history, dating back to the XIIth century. Inside is preserved a Roman-Gallic voting column which was used in the Middle Ages to support the alter.
The chapel was entirely restored in 1643, as witnessed by the engraved inscription on the central stone above the arched entrance door.